On voices, tiny tiny ones

I face several problems in bars.  One is that I place my personality in the “slow burn” category, at least among large groups of people I have not met before.  I don’t make much of a first impression, and my sense of humor largely doesn’t come out until around the third meeting (barfolk, typically, are only met once).  I grow on people.  I am not the life of the party. 

A main factor that contributes to this is one I have no control over.  In fact, I’d like for it to be studied scientifically.  I do not whisper or particularly sound meek in normal everyday sun-is-out settings.  I used to be a cheerleader.  I know how to speak from the diaphragm and can yell with the best of them.  But in bars, whether it’s the music, or the ton of people talking, no one can hear me.  No one.  Even getting my name across is a real struggle.

So I do what anyone would do–learn to mime absolutely everything that could need to be said in a bar-setting.  Feel free to pick up some tips.
“Music” or “I love this song” = *point to the ceiling, my ear, then smile*
“Wanna dance?”=*just start dancing*
“Want another drink?”=*point to the bar and shrug*
“I’m about to leave”=*point to my watch and then the door*
“Are you sure you want to go home with him?”=*a grab of the arm, head gesture to the man in question, and then raised eyebrows* [not a popular mime]
“Oh no, please don’t drunk-cry tonight”=*no mime, just desperation*

About discomfited

Too afraid of being judged to use my real name.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a comment